This system will be undergoing scheduled maintenance between and and may be unavailable during this time.

Specialist Radio Programming Round 1 2020/21

Submissions are now being accepted. Submissions close at 2:00PM 10 March 2020 (AEDT).

About Specialist Radio Programming Grants

Stations producing content that meets the needs of particular communities may be eligible for dedicated Specialist Radio Programming Content grants. This funding is intended to encourage stations to incorporate:

  • RPH programs to serve people with a print disability
  • Ethnic programs to serve a defined local ethnic community
  • Indigenous programs.

These grants are distributed twice per year, with the greater portion allocated in Round 1 (see grant key dates).

Our grant guidelines and our Frequently Asked Questions detail everything you need to know about Specialist Radio Programming grants, including the need for stations to consult with broadcasters. For stations consulting with multiple ethnic broadcasters, we’ve prepared a Specialist Content Workbook to help you (special thanks to Behrooz Farahnakian from 4EB who created the original version).

Before you start your application, make sure you preview the application form and remember, members of our friendly Grants Support Team are here to provide tips and advice.

Links and downloads

Talk to us

We strongly encourage you to discuss your project with the Grants Support Team before submitting your application. They can provide advice on the types of projects funded in this category, what information you should include in your application and feedback on your application prior to submission.

For assistance in applying please see links to further information below. If you would prefer to apply for the grant using a word processing document, contact your Grants Support Team member:

Jon King - 03 8341 5966 and
Radio stations in Victoria, Tasmania, television stations and any independent producers or not-for-profit organisations looking to partner with a community broadcaster

Dean Linguey - 03 8341 5988 and
Radio stations and Remote Indigenous Media Organisations (RIMOs) in Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and the Northern Territory

Georgina Boucher - 03 8341 5955 and
Radio stations in New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory

For further information see:

Frequently Asked Questions

Grants Guides and Resources

SmartyGrants Guide for Applicants

Return to CBF website